Circuit zandvoort

The track. Circuit Zandvoort is not only known for its legendary races and the fantastic atmosphere. The Zandvoort track is also famous for its unique location. Only a stone’s throw away from the beach and with a beautiful asphalt ribbon in the dunes, Circuit Zandvoort is a delight to visit for every race fan.


Discover the circuit.

At a length of 4.3 kilometres, it ranks among the shorter circuits on the F1 calendar: hardly anywhere else, drivers zoom past the race fans that often! Here, you won’t find seemingly endless asphalt-covered run-areas, only merciless gravel beds. Drivers pay the price for even the tiniest mistake made on the track. The highly challenging circuit features 14 corners and will be fully upgraded to meet the highest standard whilst maintaining the unique character that makes Circuit Zandvoort stand out.

Circuit Zandvoort


The link between Zandvoort and motorsport is taking us back to the late 1930s when motorsport aficionados decided to organise a competition in Zandvoort. The race in 1939 was held on a temporary street circuit. After its huge success, it was decided to build a permanent facility. The first race at that circuit was held on 7 August 1949. From 1952 onwards, Zandvoort had its slot on the Formula 1 calendar.

In the 1970s, modifications were made to the track and new safety features were implemented. The last Formula 1 Grand Prix to date was held in 1985. Construction of a new holiday resort resulted into the circuit being shortened to an interim lay-out in 1988. In 1999, the track was extended to a full GP length of 4.3 kilometres. For the 2020 F1 Dutch Grand Prix, the circuit will be adapted at some points, but its unique character will remain unaffected.

Heroes at the track.

The list of Formula 1 heroes to have raced at Zandvoort is really long. The most famous winners from the track’s history probably are Stirling Moss, Graham Hill, Jim Clark, Jackie Stewart, James Hunt and Niki Lauda. They all mastered the track’s fast and difficult corners.

One of the most legendary races took place in 1985 when Niki Lauda had to start from tenth on the grid, but worked his way up to claim victory. With Alain Prost and Ayrton Senna, two further motorsport legends joined him on the podium. For Niki Lauda, victory at Zandvoort also proved to be his final career win. Many drivers from the ranks of 2019 Formula 1 grid has already had success in Formula 3 at Zandvoort. For instance, Lewis Hamilton, Valtteri Bottas and Max Verstappen know what winning at Zandvoort is like.